Congratulations to Our 2023 Award Winners

At Norfolk Southern, our success is powered by the hard work and dedication of our 20,000 railroaders.  

In 2023, Norfolk Southern was proud to see several members of Team NS receive industry recognition for their contributions to the railroad. The awards are a testament to the work being done every day across all Norfolk Southern departments, locations, and teams to chart A Better Way Forward.

Congratulations to Paul Duncan, Meghan Achimasi, Katherine Barry, Will DeShazor, Mark Dudle, Jamie Helmer, Adam Motsinger, and Yannik Thomas, as well as our own CEO Alan Shaw. And thank you, Team NS, for all you’re doing to lead with our values and bring our mission to life.


Alan Shaw, Chief Executive Officer
Progressive Railroading
Innovator of the Year




Paul Duncan, Chief Operating Officer
Railway Age
10 Readers’ Influential Leaders




Meghan Achimasi, Group Vice President – Chemicals Marketing
Railway Age
Women in Rail Honoree




Katherine Barry, Senior Manager, Signal and Electrical Engineering
Railway Track and Structures
Women in Railroad Engineering Award




Will DeShazor, AVP Terminal Operations for Intermodal and Automotive
Railway Age
Top 25 “Fast Trackers”




Mark Dudle, Occupational Safety Director
Association of American Railroads
Environmental Achievement Award




Jamie Helmer, Director Fuel Efficiency
Progressive Railroading
Woman of Influence




Adam Motsinger, Manager, Environmental Operations
Association of American Railroads
2023 Environmental Excellence Award




Yannik Thomas, VP Intermodal & Automotive Operations
International Rail Journal
Young Leaders in Rail Award